WHMIS Transition 2015

The Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) is Canada’s national hazard communication standard. The key elements of the system are hazard classification, cautionary labelling of containers, the provision of (material) safety data sheets ((M)SDSs) and worker education and training programs.

The basis for hazard classification and communication in WHMIS is changing. With the incorporation of the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling for chemicals (GHS) in WHMIS, the hazard classification and communication requirements of WHMIS have been aligned with those used in the United States and other Canadian trading partners. WHMIS is in a period of transition between two hazard communication regimes – WHMIS 1988 and WHMIS 2015 (which incorporates the GHS).

WHMIS Transition

To give suppliers, employers and workers time to adjust to the new system, WHMIS 2015 implementation will take place gradually over a three-stage transition period that is synchronized nationally across federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions. Learn more about WHMIS transition and how to remain compliant with WHMIS requirements.

WHMIS 2015 (incorporating the GHS)

WHMIS 1988 has changed to incorporate the GHS, which is an internationally consistent approach to classifying chemicals and communicating hazard information though labels and safety data sheets. This topic includes information about the new hazard communication regime for workplace chemicals – WHMIS 2015, including the amended HPA and Hazardous Products Regulations (HPR).

WHMIS 1988

Learn about supplier and importer requirements within WHMIS 1988 stemming from the Controlled Products Regulations, including supplier labelling and MSDS requirements, information about WHMIS 1988 classifications, and compliance and enforcement.

Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to Frequently Asked Questions relating to WHMIS, GHS, protecting CBI, and where employers and workers can find additional resources.